Green schools for all in this generation.

All students should have the opportunity to attend schools that sustain the world they live in; enhance their health and well-being; and prepare them for 21st century careers.

The Center for Green Schools at the U.S. Green Building Council works with school decision makers, community volunteers and thought leaders in the public and private sectors to drive progress at the intersection of sustainability, education, public health and the built environment.



USGBC launched the National Green Schools Campaign alongside partners at the 2007 Clinton Global Initiative, committing to a vision of green schools for every child. That same year, USGBC launched the LEED for Schools rating system, which provided a leadership standard for better, healthier school buildings.

After listening to and learning from school leaders around the country, USGBC founded the Center for Green Schools in 2010, broadening its foundational work in the green building movement to encompass topics and issues important to schools and the people in them every day: teachers, students, staff, and parents.

We are committed to the highest impact opportunities to accelerate a global green schools movement. Since the Center for Green Schools’ founding, we have sustained volunteer action in every state, inspired global service in schools during the Green Apple Day of Service through the action of more than 750,000 volunteers across 73 countries, and educated champions at the annual Green Schools Conference & Expo.

We have reinforced our belief that healthy learning environments lead to thriving communities with the publication of original research and policy analysis, and we have increased the introduction of green schools legislation in U.S. states by five-fold.

Our staff and volunteers have worked to establish the U.S. Department of Education’s Green Ribbon Schools award program in dozens of states, strengthening the program’s “three pillars” of a green school as unifying criteria for the movement. This criteria is now used by organizations in 32 countries around the world. In 2015, the Center unveiled Learning Lab, a platform for curriculum content, which piloted with over 1,000 teachers in 26 countries.


Our Founding Sponsor

The Center For Green Schools was launched at USGBC with the generous support of United Technologies Corporation (UTC) as our Founding Sponsor. Through UTC’s years of support, the Center has helped schools across the nation and around the world on their journey to become green.

UTC’s support of the Center goes beyond founding sponsorship. Worldwide, employees throughout the company’s many facets are supporting green schools, participating in Green Apple Day Of Service, encouraging local schools and districts to lead sustainability initiatives, and introducing a new generation to the green schools movement.