2019 School District Scholarship Award recipients announced

Published on: 
21 Oct 2019
Phoebe Beierle

USGBC is excited to announce the recipients of the 2019–2020 School District Scholarship, an annual program run by the Center for Green Schools, which recognizes and supports school districts who are making measurable progress toward their sustainability goals. The Center has awarded 26 scholarships since the program began in 2014.

The five 2019 recipients are from diverse communities across the U.S. and represent more than 209,000 students:

These districts have demonstrated their commitment to whole-school sustainability by designing, building and maintaining healthy, high-performance schools, fostering an awareness and vision for sustainability across the district, and engaging students in sustainability topics through various programs.

The 2019–2020 recipients have a long list of successes, including passing districtwide policies to support water quality testing and comprehensive sustainability activities, achieving $1.8 million in funding for schoolyard projects that reduce stormwater runoff, reducing energy and water use up to 30%, partnering with AmeriCorps to fund sustainability positions at the district and much more.

The Green Schools Scholarship is valued at $20,000 and includes fully paid professional development opportunities at the Greenbuild Conference and Expo, the Green Schools Conference and Expo, and the School Sustainability Leaders' Summit. Scholars also benefit from ongoing coaching from experts in the field, their peers and a broader group of sustainability professionals who participate in the School Sustainability Leaders Network. Throughout the year, they can take advantage of complimentary access to curriculum and training resources such as Learning Lab, the Green Classroom Professional Certificate, and a LEED coach.

Each school system we work with is dedicated to positively impacting the health and performance of the thousands of students, teachers and staff that it serves and blazing a trail for other districts to follow. Congratulations to the 2019–2020 Scholars!

Learn more about the School Sustainability Leaders Network