Learn more about green schools with our monthly webcasts

Published on: 
22 Feb 2019
Author: 
Carolyn Yi

This year, the Center for Green Schools at USGBC will offer monthly webcasts focused on a variety of topics. Join us each month to expand your knowledge of a green schools issue and to hear directly from industry experts and partners.

See the schedule outline below for our full list of 2019 webinars. Bookmark this page, and check back monthly for updated details including time, call-in information and guest speakers for the next webcast.

March: School District Sustainability Scorecards

Core audience: School Sustainability Leaders Network
Date: Tuesday, March 26
Time: 1 p.m. EST / Noon CST / 11 a.m. MST / 10 a.m. PST

Register here

Description: Data collection and benchmarking performance in the classroom are essential, but what about in other areas at school? In this webcast, three school sustainability and facilities leaders will share their stories of benchmarking and communicating progress on a variety of metrics such as energy, water, waste, transportation, health and wellness, student leadership, and more. Attendees will learn what the outcomes of engaging occupants in ongoing data collection have been on both the individual and community scale. Each presenter will showcase the internal and external tools used to develop their districts’ Sustainability Scorecard, and share tips for replicating in other school districts.

Featured Speakers:

  • Chris Pyke - Senior Vice President, Product for the US Green Building Council
  • Tresine Logsdon - Energy & Sustainability Curriculum Coordinator, Fayette County Public Schools
  • Ghita Carroll - Sustainability Coordinator, Boulder Valley School District
  • Tom Horton - Director of Facilities, Carlisle Area School District

April: Schools as Teaching Tools Program Release

Core audience: All audiences
Date: Tuesday, April 30

May: The State of the School Recycling Market

Core audience: School Sustainability Leaders Network
Date: Tuesday, May 21

June: Air Quality

Core audience: All audiences
Date: Wednesday, June 19

July: Zero Waste

Core audience: All audiences
Date: Wednesday, July 17

August: Green Revolving Funds

Core audience: School Sustainability Leaders Network
Date: Tuesday, Aug. 20

September: International Updates and Global Coalition Member Spotlight

Core audience: Global Coalition members, international green schools stakeholders
Date: Tuesday, Sept. 17

October: Green Building Standards in All 50 States

Core audience: USGBC green schools volunteers, green schools advocacy stakeholders
Date: Tuesday, Oct. 15

December: Climate Resilience and Climate Commitments

Core audience: School Sustainability Leaders Network
Date: Thursday, Dec. 5